Log in
Western Wheelers Bicycle Club

Presidents' Awards

The President of the club may choose to recognize club members who have made major contributions to the club or have other significant accomplishments.  The reason for the award may differ from year-to-year and/or recipient-to-recipient.


  • Jon Blum—For his expert guidance to the club during the pandemic and his insights and involvement in road designs (including the Foothill El Monte intersection and Homestead bike lanes) to make them more bicycle friendly.


  • Not awarded


  • Not awarded


  • Not awarded


  • Bill Sherwin—For adding a whole new dimension to the club by creating a training program for club members and creating a safety program to promote safe riding, and give assistance to members who have crashed. 


  • Randall Braun—For exceptional leadership as the Sequoia Chair and promoting positive community relations (Sequoia Co-char 2016, Chair 2017, and Chair 2018)


  • Not awarded


  • Mindy Steiner—For exceptional service to our club as a Ride Leader, Club President, and Ride Chair


  • Judy DeFranco—For serving as the Sequoia Chair for six years, President for two years, and for other contributions to Western Wheelers
  • Guy Shuman—For his work as LDT Ride Coordinator, for organizing and leading more than 45 rides in 2015, for always welcoming new members, and for all that he has done for the club and its members


  • Not awarded


  • Andy Kirk.


Mindy called this inaugural category the President’s Hero award. The 2 members honored were:
  • Jani Richards—For her perseverance and successful solo completion of the Cazadero LDT ride, which was the longest and most difficult ride which she, a B rider, had ever attempted.
  • Midori—For her meteoric one year rise from a beginner rider to a competent C rider, a 100-mile Sequoia finisher, and a B-ride leader.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software